OSR CUSTOM SHOWCASE: Fullmetal’s 1/6 Customs

On behalf of this joint project by One Sixth Republic and myself, monkeyboner, welcome to what is planned to be a weekly showcase for the wonderful and talented 1/6th scale figure customizers (apparently the word customizer isn’t recognized by the dictionary but we aim to make it legit!). Each week we will shine the spotlight on an artist or team of artists to find out more about their craft and to present their amazing work to the rest of the world. If you have any suggestions as to who to feature in the upcoming weeks, feel free to shoot me an email at arthurliam@gmail.com.

FULLMETAL’S 1/6 CUSTOMS

Probably one of the more unique 1/6 scale customizers today is Fullmetal’s 1/6 Customs. What sets these guys apart is that their products, be it small cutlery to full 1/6 scale automobiles, are almost entirely built from scratch and from actual metal materials. Started as a hobby by Jonathan de Guzman from Bulacan, Philippines, fabricating accessories, vehicles and dioramas is now his full time endeavor. Read on to learn more and prepare your collective minds to be blown away at the craftsmanship and details that make up Fullmetal Custom’s product catalog.

How and why did you get started with customizing toys in general?
“I started scratch building 1/6 accessories back in 2010. My very first creation was a 1/6 M113 Military APC. This is how I met David Park at OneSixthWarriors.com. He’s a very good friend and now my partner at Fullmetal’s 1/6 Customs . From then on, we’ve been accepting commission jobs from OSW, Sideshow Freaks, and Facebook. He does all the communication with the clients and I do the fabrication.”

Where did you learn your craft and skills?
“Before I got into 1/6 scratch building, I used to work as a product developer/sample maker at a handicrafts factory (for exports) for like 12 years, I think. Afterwards, I decided to be self-employed. I made die cast metal molds for the numerous handicraft subcontractors located around my area. Unfortunately, the work wasn’t regular and it was tough waiting for my customers to pay for my services, hehe. So I tried my hand at 1/6 scale. By the way, I started with 1/6 when I managed to buy a used 1/6 scale Radio-Controlled Tank online from Dan Cueto, a member of One Sixth Pinoy.

Dan and I got to talking about my profession and he asked me if I could fabricate a 1/6 M113 APC from metal. I gave it a shot even though I had no buyer for it, hehe. It turned out well because my business partner Dave, also known as davinator65 on eBay, OSW, and SSF, managed to sell the piece at our asking price. Oh by the way we sell our items through those websites 🙂 ”

Are you a collector yourself? If so, what can we see in your collection?
“I collect too but don’t have much. I have a few Enterbay NBA figures, die-cast Iron Mans, a couple of Wolvies (Wolverine) and DAM Toys Gangster Kingdom figures (my favorite).”

Do you think toy customization is an art form?
“It is! Well I don’t know how to explain though, but I’m sure it is!”

Which aspect of customizing is the most difficult for you?
“Everything.  Like me, I build 1/6 stuff from scratch; each and every part is painstakingly made by hand 😉 ”

Besides yourself, who do you think are customizers that deserve recognition and appreciation?
“My friend Peter Walker (painter), Jay Deogracias (sculptor), Tinela Ayres (tailor/seamstress) and Bleu Aquino (tailor). They all deserve recognition and appreciation.  But I really admire Robbie Jones and Kato of SSF. They really need special mention for their level of skill. Also, my friend Karen Rosic Privett and her husband Terry  make  good-looking The Walking Dead and Breaking Bad diorama parts for their own collection 😉 ”

If a job opportunity presented itself and you had the chance to work in a large company like Hot Toys or Enterbay, would you take it and why?
“Why not? But, as long as they will allow me to work here from home, hehe. ”

m113

Which of your products are you most proud of?
“All of them. But the most special one for me is the M113 APC, since it is the very first 1/6 model that I made and is the toughest one.  ”

 

What is your favorite non-custom, commercially available 1/6 scale figure?
“I love the Play Imaginative Mark 7 Ironman. I really like its build. Not the fingers though. The fingers are kind of loose unlike the Hot Toys version. I also read some reviews where the fingers would actually pop off but so far mine are OK but yes, they are a bit loose now. ”

If you weren’t making custom figures, dioramas, or accessories, what do you think would be keeping you busy right now?
” I’m probably playing NBA 2K15 with my brother 😉 ”

I think it’s all about the 3 Ps … Practice, Patience and the most important, Passion

Any projects you’re working on that you’re excited about?
“My WIP ‘The Rocketeer’ jet-pack and helmet.”

Finally, any tips or suggestions for those who want to start customizing their figures?
“I’m not good at this but I think it’s all about the 3 Ps … Practice, Patience and the most important, Passion.”

If you need to get in touch with Fullmetal’s 1/6 Customs, please contact David Park at davinator65@yahoo.com.

5 thoughts on “OSR CUSTOM SHOWCASE: Fullmetal’s 1/6 Customs

  1. Jon makes the most amazing 1/6 pieces I have ever seen. He has made a several pieces for me and all I can say is “WOW”..I don’t know how he does it but this guy deserves an award for his work. Him and Dave his partner are the most humble, loyal, pleasant and most thoughtful people I have ever dealt with in my life. When Jon makes a piece of art for you it is not just the amazing work he does it is also the gracious treatment him and Dave give you. You are not just another “customer” to them, you become their friend immediately. It is rare these days to find people like him but when you get to know Jon (and Dave) you finally get to know what it actually means to know truly “GOOD PEOPLE”. It is an honor to have some of his amazing art in my home and even better it’s a pleasure to call him and Dave my friend. When you asked him to name other customizers who deserve recognition and he named me for making dioramas..he knows my dioramas don’t really look that good but he knows I love to do it, I work on them for days and as bad as they look I still keep making them He keeps encouraging me to keep making them. He knows I don’t even fit into the same category as the other people he mentioned but he knows I have the same passion as those others so he included me, he is just that good of a person to even mention me. He is the best metal artist I have ever met.

    Like

Leave a comment